Type 89's Nerf

I’m not expecting so much from this post, since it’s my first one and not as intricate as some other ones I’ve seen, but I hope someone out there agrees.
I’ve been using the Type 89 since mid 2021. It was a great vehicle back then, with great ATGM and great gun, granted a little too OP.
Now the gun reload and elevation is hideous, and the ATGM is just unusable. I’ve seen many forums saying the ATGM is bad, but no one seems to be talking about the gun.
The website below states about the KDE gun as such: “Features left and right hand feed. Switching between feed takes less than 1 second. Magazine fed or connected to a feed system”. The clip system was correct, the current ready rack is incorrect.
As stated on multiple posts, the ATGM is absolutely useless. It drops so much after being fired to the point where you can’t hit anyone because it just smashes into the ground before doing anything.

I do fully agree that the Type 89 was OP in the past, but now it’s a vehicle that may be usable in 8.3. I hope some buff is given to this vehicle in the future.

https://weaponsystems.net/system/283-35mm+Oerlikon+KDE

9 Likes

Just like almost to all IFVs with ATGM launchers, that includes even BMP2M, pretty sure Dardo too. After change of ATGM physics you have to be very precise about using them. I personally disagree with ATGMs falling into the ground as something realistic (especially with there being so many videos of usage of those ATGMs, where you can clearly see it doesnt just fall off the tube as it exits it.)

I feel like the BMP-2M was relatively untouched. Granted, it is a little worse than what it used to be capable of, but not terrible.
I’m not aware how bad the Dardo is, I’ve heard mixed opinions.
The Type 89 just doesn’t make sense, the missile wobbles even on a straight line, drops so much, etc.
I still fully respect your opinions, these are all from my experience. I hope they do something about the ATGM soon.

1 Like