MiG-21MF Tips?

How should I fly this in sim? I am new to the gamemode but not new to air RB at all.

Stay fast, use your radar

use the radar for…? I can’t even get IFF confirmations with this half the time

Radar is great for IFF, dunno why it doesn’t work for you

In SB, situational awareness is everything, pay close attention to your RWR, radar and what’s going on around you. Also know when it’s best to keep your radar off (since it’s pinging enemy RWR’s). For the Mig21 the radar range is pretty low so I prefer to always keep it on since it occasionally will alert you of someones presence, however you’re mostly gonna rely on finding people visually

There’s nothing wrong with the IFF of your radar, you just have to understand it. Like most things it doesn’t have pulse-doppler at the BR though so it’s best to fly low so there’s minimal ground clutter behind enemies.

Other than that it’s pretty solid in a dogfight at it’s BR, bring 1-2 R3R so you can kill both head-on and rear aspect. Use afterburner to get up to speed, when chasing people down and during dogfights, but generally keep it off all other times, it just drinks fuel and puts you at a disadvantage if you’re going too fast when potentially merging with someone.

But yeah, it’s a solid jet. Fast, great interceptor, good missiles, strong engine, decent dogfighter… Your limiting factor in sim will always be situational awareness, make sure you have a solid controls setup, potentially switch to controller if you don’t have flight-stick.

Generally with all jets in sim, try to fly in a defensive manner, minimise threatening areas around you, like try to approach from an angle you know is safe, and always pay attention to directions you’re not sure about. Don’t just fly into the middle of the map at 500 meters altitude since then you’ll have possible threats all around and below you.

it doesnt give IFF unless it can successfully see it yes? Ground clutter makes the radar not give me returns