Barrel Damage - To be or not to be

Ive been playing this game since 2013 and really enjoyed my time with War Thunder, also my first post in this forum ever :)

The reason for this post is to make a small poll to see what the players of the War Thunder community think of barrel damage in Ground RB.

I personally feel this is a game breaking feature and should be removed or get a major rework.
There was a time when you actually had to study different weakspots for tanks in order to get a kill.
Now its enough to aim at the barrel and its almost an instant win, and honestly, all that hard work to create fancy armour stats is almost a complete waste of Gaijins time/work.

If you would like to remove or keep barrel damage as a part of the game or have suggestions how it could be changed, please do share your thoughts :)

• Yes - Keep it as it is
  • No - Remove it
  • Back to the drawing board
0 voters
1 Like

It would be nice if they reverted it back to where you could still fire with a damaged barrel, but the shell was a lot less accurate and had more drop off.

15 Likes

Was only introduced to help .50 cal shooters

In another post talking about barrel damage, it was proposed by another user (forget his name, sorry) to divide the barrel into segments damage-model-wise.

The tip of the barrel would be separate from the rest of it, whether your machine has a muzzle brake/fume extractor or not. Shooting the barrel tip of someone looking at you would slightly decrease your accuracy, making long-range shots impractical, but intentionally do nothing at all to prevent short-range shots from firing at full power.

Now, if you are sticking your gun out around a corner and someone shoots a round through the side of it, it would be fully disabled just like now.

6 Likes

Keep it as is.
Barrels are already a risky shot due to the way a lot of them are modelled and server desync.