Advices to play coastal fleet

Recently I started playing naval battles again, both bluewater and coastal fleet. While I perform better on bluewater, I do not on coastal. Mostly, I’m getting overwhelmed by other vessels or being sniped from destroyers etc. I’m not trying to rush or something, but I keep dying somehow. Is there any tips to play on them better? And also, which ammo I should bring: more AP or HE?

What nation, BR, gamemode (AB/RB) and boats are you playing?

I find each nation plays a lot different

I tried USA, USSR and Great Britain. Got to III rank on them and average BR is 3.0

Arcade or realistic?

Realistic battles

So my advice (isnt necessaryly the best advice as I dont play too much naval anymore) but faster firing guns I find generally perform better then larger caliber, especially in costal. Around 3.0+ there isnt any way to generally avoid being nuked by a destoryer. However there are some general benefits that costal have when facing destroyers which is their speed generally costal vehicles are smaller, quicker and more nimble then destoryers. (This doss not apply to all boats in the coastal trees)

Also if you are playing with other people you can work together to distract a destoryer while another person sneaks up to launch a few torpedos etc.

When it comes to ammo I find it depends on the caliber and what you are fighting, if you find you tend to be facing larger ships try taking about half the ammo you normally would as AP and the other half HE as even some destroyers can be killed easily by HE starting fires.

Thanks a lot! Is there boats that easy to train on?

Also, avoid open places, doesn’t really matter what coastal ship you’re playing, always avoid open sea.

Trying to do so, but unfortunately not every map has cover, and some have terrible spawns.

play lower level
blue water takes a lot of the fun out of coastal
so go where they are not

this will raise a few but …