Looking for tips... starting with crew skills and the 'grind'

SKurj

may as well be a complete newb to WT.  I did play ground a few years back, but didn't stay long.  I've played that other more arcadey naval game too..

anyways, i am still figuring out the interface, and tonight i played a few AB and unlocked RB...  I will be focusing on IJN and possibly GE , but my primary goal would be to move up the IJN line.

In what order should i prioritize my crew skills?  

is running a prem ship like Yubari in RB the quickest grind?  or?

I currently only have Yubari, Mutsuki and Satsuki and run them in the same line up for now.

Can i turn off the torp aiming guide?  Once it's on i can't seem to get it to turn off until i want to use it again or am i sol?

i see abit of stuff out there on the web, but lots is out of date ....  

• Upvote 1
medal

17 hours ago, SKurj said:

It depends on a ship, but Fire extinguishing, Fire prevention, Main caliber reload speed are always good starters. For a second choices Repair Rank (just to have a free repair while you AFK like in the other modes), Crew interchangeability, Enemy torpedoes detection distance, Auxiliary and AA gun reload & accuracy, Distance fuse set accuracy, Unwatering time and Breach repair.

Least important: Survival leadership (you should always fix 1 thing at a time) and Air targets detection distance

Yes, running premium account and/or premium ship are the quickest way to grind.
Also if you want to play Japanese ships, just don't bother with RB, it's a waste of time (unless you play it for pleasure, than feel free to, just keep in mind it's very inefficient). Play AB where you benefit from the free reloads of the Long Lance torpedoes and use them all throughout the match. RB is best in Italian, Soviet and USSR destroyers/coastal (exceptions apply).

Can i turn off the torp aiming guide?  Once it's on i can't seem to get it to turn off until i want to use it again or am i sol?