War Thunder not working with Vulkan (Ubuntu 20.04)

Good day,

I recently downloaded War Thunder for Ubuntu and tried to get Vulkan to work because I have low FPS with OpenGL. I used this guide https://www.reddit.com/r/Warthunder/comments/8ul51x/howto_run_war_thunder_with_vulkan/. The only thing I didn't know how to get to work was the "-forcestart -driver:vulkan" for the shortcut.

Everything works fine until after the game tries to connect to the servers. I then get this error. I tried removing the cache file and reinstalling the game so far. Please note that I am a beginner when it comes to Ubuntu.

Snímka obrazovky z 2020-08-16 15-53-12.png

medal

I don't believe vulkan is at all supported, and according to some people here one of the recent updates completely broke the workaround people used to get it working (I experienced extreme client instability with it, so just stuck with OpenGL, even though it sucks, comparatively speaking).

medal medal medal

On 18/08/2020 at 17:20, [email protected] said:

what drivers and everything are you using?   they got it working upstream just fine.

Sorry no. It crashes with latest drivers. And if it wont crash it flickers like hell. It works for you probably cuz you have high-end gpu with a lot of vram.

Here is how it looks on my potatoe( and no - those aren't recording artifacts ):

medal medal medal

On 20/08/2020 at 17:23, Remaros said:

Sorry no. It crashes with latest drivers. And if it wont crash it flickers like hell. It works for you probably cuz you have high-end gpu with a lot of vram.

Here is how it looks on my potatoe( and no - those aren't recording artifacts ):

It's for sale you know.

I can only watch open source stuff on this machine through Firefox on YouTube right now.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/203054233117?ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1555.l2649