Mr_Biggs91905

Another Premium Soviet Tank to slide in or replace the T-55AM-1 to better compete with the devastating XM-1 and other tanks around its BR

I have been playing the T-55AM-1 for a while now and it seems to be no match for the XM-1 and similar tanks around its BR(8.7). It lacks turret rotation speed and driving Speed. I think they should add another Soviet Premium tank around the BR 8.7-9.3 to better compete with its competitors. I’m a reasonably new player to War Thunder and have heard “Russian Bias” but its more like “American Bias” ATM. (I don’t mean anything negative by it). I’m not a tank expert but I think they can add another premium soviet tank around this BR.

The perfect one would be Object 219, the prototype/first production model of T-80. Basically a T-80 with the armor array of T-64A. Production was extremely limited since by 1976 (year of production) the armor was super obsolete and was quickly replaced by T-80B.

TBH its a 9.3-9.7 tank (which is the BR that XM-1 should have always been!!). I like that it being premium would mirror the situation of TT M1 and premium XM-1.

If you are looking for a 8.7 tank, then IMO the Tiran 67Sh would do nicely. It´s an israeli overhauled T-62 (mirroring the americans with the Magach and the brits with the Shot Kal Dalet) featuring 105mm gun, the engine transmission of Shot Kal Dalet and Blazer ERA.

• Thanks 3
  • Upvote 1
medal medal

The Object 219 is a good choice since it can match the XM-1's speed, but I don't think it is an 8.7 tank and the proper solution to the XM-1 dominating 8.7 tanks is to move the XM-1 up, not to give the Soviet TT an equivalent. Instead, I propose the Object 432, the original T-64 (the one with the 115mm gun) as an 8.7 tank.

object-432-image04.jpg