FrizFreleng

Weirdly long queue times?

I've been playing on the US server almost daily for nearly four years, and I've never seen arcade queue times so long as they are now. I'm often waiting up to three, four, or five minutes for games at even the most populated BRs. Anyone else seeing this? 

Which brings up a secondary issue concerning Gaijin's "people online" and "current battles" statistics. How can it take nearly five minutes to get into a match if there are 1,700-ish battles going on? Even by a conservative estimate, that would mean there are dozens of matches on any given server in any given mode at any given time. It makes me wish, and not for the first time, that Gaijin had a bit more transparency in these things. 

• Upvote 5
medal medal medal medal medal medal medal medal medal medal medal medal

couple reasons:

1) a fair number of those battles are custom games with often only 1 or 2 people in there. those people are counted in the total running the client but obviously not in the ab/rb/sb queue. so some misrepresentation of actual people playing the normal game.

2) the sony ban on cross platform play is still in effect. so matches with ps4 players automatically excludes xbone players thus separating the mm pools. so even if there are seemingly plenty of ab players queued the * ^ separation means there are at least 50% less available for matching. i see plenty of rounds where it is all xbone + pc or some ps4 +pc.  i've seen matches where it only partially filled both teams.

3) 3 gameplay modes ab/rb/sb and 3 vehicle types means fragmented playerbase.

say 60k peak daily concurrent(close to actual). breakdown is (made up values) 10% SB, 30% RB, 60% AB. maybe 10% naval, 60% ground, 30% air.

• that gets you 60k x.6 = 36k, 36k x .3 = 10.8k
  • adjust by server location (2 main continents at any given time) so 80% for us + eu, divide by 2 for us server only. 10.8k x .8 = 8.6k,  8.6k x .5 = 4.3k