Been_Benuane

I'm a new player. Why did this game suddenly get much more difficult?

Hi.

I started playing this yesterday (being a fan of second world war aircraft when I was an adolescent). I chose the Soviet Union to start with just as a "what the hey" thing. I immediately loved it, and was getting at least 5 kills a mission. It did dawn on me that the Polikarpov I-15 biplanes I was flying enjoys a clear performance advantage over the other biplanes and was all over the hapless Boeing peashooters.

However, all of a sudden I was joining games on new maps where the other players are all flying monoplanes with enclosed cockpits. I went from getting at least five kills a game to suddenly struggling to get even one kill (and losing most if not all my planes). I'm still in the Polikarpov biplanes and I'm supposed to take-on early model Spitfires, Wildcats, Messerschmitts, Airacobra's?! The other players just zoom-and-boom me, and while I can score hits and get assisted kills, actually shooting them down is now really difficult. Then there's the bombers I struggle to catch let alone do enough damage to. Even if I score critical damage, someone else usually seems to get credited the eventual kill.

Can someone at least explain: Wha' happened?!

Edited by Been_Benuane

Pacifica (Posted )

Welcome to War Thunder and the Forum ! o7

Please check out the Academy Section found here for further Help:- http://forum.warthunder.com/index.php?/forum/161-the-academy/
  • Upvote 1
medal medal medal medal medal medal medal

Probably you've put a plane in your lineup with a higher battle rating (BR) which influences which opponents you'll face. One of those biplanes has a BR of 3.0.

Have a look into wiki what BR is and how its used :)

• Upvote 6
medal medal medal medal

Either you took a plane with a higher BR and/or Tier in your lineup, or you played at times with low ammount of players online forcing the Matchmaker to do strange things.