Please update the dorsal fin (vertical stab) on the p51"d" variant.

http://www.airpowerw...51d-mustang.htm

The D variant included several upgrades (not all aircraft showed them at first) including the tapered teardrop canopy (flows smoothly in and out of the fuselage), and the tapered vertical stabilizer which actually begins in front of the horizontal stabilizer.

http://en.wikipedia....an_P-51_Mustang - Here's a great article which actually shows different variants of the d model including the ones using the improved dorsal fin. It's the most widely used and iconic of the "d" models so I think the game should use it.

Explaining of why the dorsal fin was added available here. - http://www.ipmsstock...eng_p51late.htm

Image posted below to show...

p51d-changes.jpg

post-34502-0-43002300-1354910447_thumb.j

• Upvote 9
medal medal medal medal medal

I'm no expert, but there were few versions of D Mustang, earlier versions had tail without this element in front of vertical stabilizer, maybe its that one in game :)

You're right starbuck there were. But the dorsal fin was an early adjustment that was made when the d variant first came out. Pilot's complained that the new merlin engine's horsepower was making it hard for the pilots to keep the plane from rolling (due to the increased adverse yaw). To counteract this, they added more stability with the modification and later retrofitted all the other d variants with it. So in essence, most of the photos you could find that don't have the new dorsal fin were probably taken before it was added. It was added to pretty much all mustangs before the end of the war though and thus the model should have it.

Hi Cpt_AirWolf,